The Auric Layers

auric layers.png


Written by Algoth’s Grove

“As above, so below, as within, so without, as the universe, so the soul…” 

Hermes Trismegistus


The Aura, the etheric bodies that we carry. Our imprinted being, our emotions, our moods, our past wounds, and possibly an entire array of other divine imprints that we have not yet begun to touch on is what make up the auric layers.

Since the beginning of time we have seen the aura documented in art, in poetry and in scribbles of occultists and simply those fascinated with spiritual subjects. Across the world the energy systems have been perceived with different names and perhaps even different colours, but in their essence their being there is the same.

How is it that cultures across continents came to believe in the same energy systems?

To the Norse, Yggdrasil was not only an outside influence, the combination of the elder futhark, the wisdom given by Odin’s sacrifice, and the 9 worlds of Yggdrasil gave an intricate perception and evaluation into the mind, body, heart and soul of the being. The journey of traveling the World Tree within ones own life is not a pleasant journey and takes many years to complete. However, each of the 9 worlds can be equated to the Hindu system of 9 major energy points or chakras.

The Cabalistic Tree of Life has 10 major points which are drawn from the being as well. The list is endless. There are thousands of interpretations where the visions of the divine come from the being themselves. Regardless of the amount of energetic interpretations, the auric field has baffled scientists worldwide. Recently, scientists wrote off the ability to seeing auras as a form of mental illness called, Synesthesia. The Auric field can be measured, not only in humans, but also in plants and animals. It is known that each living organism carries a certain energetic imprint. Only psychics who have the auric sight can at this point give us an accurate description of what they truly look like.

The seven agreed levels of the aura and what they mean:


All the world’s information has culminated into what is generally accepted to be a seven levelled auric system which we will go into detail below. Much of it is taken from the Hindu interpretations and includes the chakra system in each flow.

The seven layers are also separated into three bodies, the physical, the astral and the spiritual body.

Etheric Layer – Root Chakra (Mulhadara) – Physical Body

The Etheric Layer is the densest layer of the aura and the one that holds closest to your physical wellbeing. It apparently extends 10mm – 50mm from your physical body. The health of this layer is directly associated with your beliefs about yourself as a person. Negativity influences this layer directly. It is perceived to be bluish grey in colour and is one of the first auric layers visible to anyone beginning on the aura sight journey.

Emotional Layer – Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) – Physical Body

This is the feeling layer. It is said to exist between 25mm and 75mm from the physical body. It is also said to contain all the colours of the rainbow and its colours fluctuate according to moods and varying states of mind. Where pain and blockages reside in this layer there will be dark spots and tears in the auric field. To cleanse this layer, it is important to practice self-love, self acceptance and know where to place your personal boundaries.

Mental Layer – Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) – Physical Body

The mental layer is said to exist between 75mm and 20cm from the physical body. It has been reported to glow a brilliant yellow. It is the field of the mind, and yellow is associated with intellect. Thought forms are present in this auric layer, whether they be yours or someone else’s that is attached to you. The health of this auric layer depends on your ability to exercise personal power. It is important to be rational in everything that you do, and keep a clear level headed approach in life.

Astral Layer – Heart Chakra (Anahata) – Astral Body

This is the only auric layer in the Astral Body. It is not only a bridge between the three top layers and three bottom, but also the hub of healing. It is said to be composed of thousands of clouds of colour. Said to exist approximately 30cm – 45cm from the physical body. It is a continuous balance between the spiritual translation of information downward into the physical and vice versa. The health of this layer of the aura is dependant not only on the loving relationships that you hold with yourself, and with others, but also your connection to what you perceive to be the divinity within or without.

Etheric Template – Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) – Spiritual Body

It is said that this auric layer exists 45cm – 60cm from the physical body. Interestingly enough, this is where sounds healing is most effective. Singing bowls, vibrational tunes, or shamanic drumming works in restoring health to all the lower levels through this auric level. It is important to follow your inner truth to ensure the health of this auric level. It is also possible to see any spiritual matters that require immediate attention in this layer. They will show up with dark areas. Healing through sound does not only heal this layer but it moves down through your other auric layers into your physical body.

Celestial Layer – Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) – Spiritual Body

It is said that this auric layer exists between 60cm – 85cm from the physical body. It has been reported to give off a mother of pearl look. Comprised completely of brilliant coloured light, the celestial layer is your connection to the greater cosmic divinity of all that is. It is your doorway to your place in the greater matrix of being. The health of this layer is your spiritual understanding of how you fit into the rest of being, beyond the duality and density of this plane. It is the place of godlike understanding, but instead of a singular perspective it is more of a oneness of being with everything else.

Ketheric Template – Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) – Spiritual Body

Here is your akashic record. The experiences that you have ever had, ever encountered and all the memories and experiences of the spirit. It is said to exist 75cm – 90cm from the physical body and it contains nothing of ego. This is the place where singularity does not exist. You are God/Creator/Divinity, and Divinity/Creator/God is you. You are also everything else in existence. It is the mental consciousness of spirit. Each being holds this doorway and this doorway is where shamanic teachers and occultists have travelled to bring back the greatest teachings. It is believed that this level is where we return to after death and what we keep in each incarnation. It is the only constant on the level of an ever changing existence.

Categories: Theoretical Thursday

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: